Quote by Jean Houston

Next is now, world music as the single most potent force in the culture of fusion ... World music-makers are like shamans, carrying us on magic carpets of riffs and melodies through states of consciousness that spin us out of time to lands not yet invented but glimpsed on the aural horizon ... And so we see that music brings us, in the jumping of our cells, from what is past to what is trying to become the future. lt expresses and fulfills our need to hear the spirit in the dark.
(Jean Houston in Jump Time, Sentient Publ. 2004)

Goddess Groove CD - Music for Women, Inspirational World Beat

Various Artists

Scintillating music for women, songs to move the heart and lift the spirit. Rhythmic melodies unfold like a fragrant flower offered to the Goddess in her myriad forms - innocent child, lover, mother, wise one. Sinuous vocal accents from Thailand, Morocco, Ireland, Australia, and the UK, mixed with modern grooves and exotic instruments accompany the Goddess in her Dance of Passion.

Download individual tracks or the full album

Use the controls to listen to each track or to all of them continuously.

Click on buy (left under the cover) to download the album or any track(s) in 320k MP3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire. This will include the artwork booklet (cover art) in PDF!

Or, download Goddess Groove from iTunes
Disha & Bhakta - Goddess Groove  
and other digital stores.

For more music go to our catalog

Track Description Musicians and Instruments
1. The Moment by Indivinity, New World Music, 4:59 Uplifting anthem understanding the spirit in motion. Monique Lewis: vocals - David Andor: guitar, keyboards - David Rudder: drum programming - Matt Roberts: drums
2. Shaman by Sally Oldfield, New World Music, 4:52 A mystic groove about the healer: warmer than fire, farther than the furthest star, I can hear the sky sing, shaman, touch the earth with the fires of healing. Sally Oldfield: vocals - Robyn Smith: keyboards, arrangement, programming
3. Y'mama (Deep Dive Corp mix) by Zehava Ben, NMC Music, 4:41 Mother, my friend - A heartfelt love song with deep grooves. Yutara Yakamura: drum programming - Stephane Castry: bass - Mustapha Ettamri: derbuka - Fadel Man'a: violin
4. Music Love Makes by Ariel Kalma, 5:36 A funky groove and the delicious voice of Ellika play with a silver flute. Ellika Hansen: vocals - Ariel Kalma: programming, silver flute
5. Lan Gaelach by Hyper[borea], 7:35 It means big moon - it's all about witnising freaky goings on at a bunch of stones high on a lonley moor in Cornwall England. David Bickley: electronics, programming - Una O'Boyle: vocals - Tom Green: electronics
6. Gentle Rain by Disha & Bhakta, 7:16 A journey in music & expression of great Awe going from chill-out to trance. Bhakta: guitar, keyboard - Disha: vocals - Saraswati: saxophone - Bhakta, Naveen: lyrics
7. Meera's Love by Infinity, Etherean, 7:34 Based on a seven beat Indian raga (yaman) and accompanied with modern instruments and effects. Suvarna: violin synthesizer, vocals - Ravi: keyboards, bass, percussion - Ty Burhoe: tablas - Hossam Ramzy: Egyptian percussion
8. Burning Love by Yantra de Vilder, 5:11 A woman sings her passion, feeling the heat of the fire deep inside - brilliant Hammond organ playing on the rhythms of a funky techno vocal mix. Yantra de Vilder: programming, keyboards - Epizo Bangoura: percussion - Vanessa baker: vocals
9. Meta by Rama IV, Oreade, 5:15 Devotional classical Thai music merged with western chill dance. A marriage of electronic and organic rhythms and the intertwining of East and West. Paul Downes - Alan Eskinasi - Ning Lertlam - Adul Chotinisakorn
10. Siam by Limborg / Barki, Tangram, 5:03 Sweet melody of the East telling a story in a modern way, a slow feminine dance. Limborg: synthesiser, percussion - Ponbun: vocals - Barki: vocals


Goddess Groove reviewed by Steve Allat: The Muse's Muse

Producer Ariel Kalma has done what few people in his position have managed to do - that is, to assemble songs from a variety of sources that really do blend together and also to produce them in such a way that the sonic tone of the CD is the same from beginning to end, which is really a treat.

On this CD, we have as a theme the 'Goddess in her Dance of Passion', embodied for us via female vocals, performance and songwriting.

Again, all the tracks are strong and well assembled, with artists from Thailand, Morocco, Ireland, Australia and the UK. My faves are amongst those with a Middle Eastern flavour, but there were no tracks which turned my ear the other way, which I admit happens from time to time with certain varieties of music from around the world.

Again, beautiful vocals courtesy of Zehava Ben on 'Ymama' and Ellika Hansen on 'Music Love Makes'. Enough beauty there even if you don't enjoy the rest of the songs. As with some compilations and music in this genre, however, the only potential hindrance I can see is somewhat of a 'new agey' feel to some of the tracks, courtesy of the soft-synth background music and the lush programming. That's not necessarily bad, just a bit typical of the style, and fortunately it isn't overly used or it would have affected the listening experience a lot more. Ariel even manages to transcend the new age 'sound' for the most part through his production alone.

So, kudos to Ariel Kalma - not only for this disc, but for all 3 I listened to and reviewed (see 'Tribal Trance Dance' and 'Tribal Dreaming'). In listening to more than one, it reassured me that his vision is true, his sense of tone is lush & powerful and his ear for choosing tunes that go together is well above average.

I would look to their catalogue now before others of the kind simply based on knowing the attention he obviously gives each product and the overall quality of the finished product. Put this in your player, turn it up and relax - the sound will move right through you.

More reviews