Quote by Jean Houston

Next is now, world music as the single most potent force in the culture of fusion ... World music-makers are like shamans, carrying us on magic carpets of riffs and melodies through states of consciousness that spin us out of time to lands not yet invented but glimpsed on the aural horizon ... And so we see that music brings us, in the jumping of our cells, from what is past to what is trying to become the future. lt expresses and fulfills our need to hear the spirit in the dark.
(Jean Houston in Jump Time, Sentient Publ. 2004)

Sanctum CD - Music for Contemplation

Various Artists

Enter a safe haven of contemplation music and peace beyond all pain... Drifting melodies guide you into the depths of your innermost self. Trusting fully, you are lifted by gentle instrumentals (flute, harp, organ, strings) and reverent chants to arrive at the altar of your soul. Releasing the past, you rest in the bliss of Universal Love. Thus healed and renewed, step into the sunshine to greet a wonderful new day.

Download individual tracks or the full album

Use the controls to listen to each track or to all of them continuously.

Click on buy (left under the cover) to download the album or any track(s) in 320k MP3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire. This will include the artwork booklet (cover art) in PDF!

Or download Sanctum from iTunes
Deva Premal - Sanctum  
and other digital stores.

Check out ALL our music, go to our catalog

Track Description Musicians & Instruments
1 - Light Dream by Kamal, 6:34 Very slow, very soft, like a dream of a misty morning, entering time, inspiring. Kamal: keyboard, programming
2 - Flute for the Soul by Ariel Kalma, 4:23 Deep inside us we long to go back to Source. A musical hymn to acompany our journey. Ariel Kalma : recorder, programming, saxophone - Stefen Be: shamanic drum, percussion
3 - O Successores by Air Ensemble, 8:11 Modern arrangement of a chant from Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179), a German nun who created her own convent and composed 77 lithurgical songs. Claudia Di Fabri: vocals - Lenny Thompson: soprano saxophone - Air Ensemble: percussion
4 - Alilo by Chloe Goodchild, 4:56 Eastern European Christmas song from Georgia. Inspiring harmonies from another culture induce an atmosphere for contemplation. Chloe Goodchild: vocals - David Lord: keyboards
5 - Shen Khar Venakhi by Ensemble Tbilisi, 3:19 Men choral ritual from Kakhety in East Georgia - sacred hymn to the mother of God - very soft and reflective. Ensemble Tbilisi: a capella vocals - Robert Gogolashvili: director
6 - Amen by MIchael Reimann, 5:58 Meditation mantra recorded at the Koenigsmunster Benedictine Monastery, Germany - a soothing grace of simplicity. Benedictine Monks: vocals - Michael Reimann: keyboards
7 - Light Prayer by Erik Berglund, 4:41 A precious moment, delicate, inspiring healing thoughts from another dimension - a sweet melody born from silence. Erik Berglund : Irish Douglas harp - John Mazzei: synthesiser
8 - Nagarkot by Tarshito, 6:30 Majestic beauty inspired by a Nepalese village with breath-taking views of the snow-capped Himalayan peaks. Tarshito: guitars - Mat Weeks: sitar - Paul Kimmel: flute - Rodney Wright: tablas
9 - Sammasati by Deva Premal, 7:13 Mellow instrumental piece, a melody sung by voices without words. Deva Premal : vocals - Miten: vocals, guitar - Reiff Jnr.: guitar - RajRishi: drums, keyboards, percussions


Sanctum reviewed by Mark Bayross, Phase9 Entertainment

Music Mosaic releases are usually guaranteed to relax the spirit and open the mind (see, I’m talking new age bollocks already!) but SANCTUM probably takes the prize for the most chilled of the chilled so far.

Moving at a very s-l-o-w pace, artists like Kamal, Erik Berglund and Michael Reimann employ everything from synthesisers and harps to Benedictine Monks to create pieces of chilly, atmospheric calm.

Unlike other Music Mosaic albums, most of the inspiration comes from closer to home than the usual African, South American and Asian continents. Apart from Tarshito’s Nepal-inspired NAGARKOT, the music here is either dream-like ambience of indeterminate origin or early European chamber music.

So, alongside Michael Reimann’s aforementioned AMEN, recorded at the Koenigsmunster Benedictine Monastery in Germany, there’s the Air Ensemble’s O SUCCESSORES, a modern arrangement of a chant by Hildegard von Bingen (a medieval German nun), Chloe Goodchild’s ALILO (a Georgian Christmas song) and the Ensemble Tbilisi’s male choral recital of the sacred hymn SHEN KHAR VENAKHI from Kakhety in East Georgia.

As you’ve probably gathered, this is serene, reflective music in its most minimalist form, but - aside from Deva Premal’s closing SAMMASATI, which veers dangerously close to muzak - I defy anyone not be soothed by its gracefulness or bowled over by its beauty.

More reviews